Ženské sbory – Cori femminili (1916)

Female Choruses - Cori femminili (1916)

The volume of women's choruses by Leoš Janáček contains works from his creative period in the beginning of 1916. This was a very productive and important time for Janáček. At that time the composer completed years of work on the first part of his opera bilogy Výlety páně Broučkovy/Excursions of Mr Brouček, finished the first version of Taras Bulba, and a year earlier had composed the cantata Věčné evangelium/The Eternal Gospel

300.00 Kč

Although the period of the First World War was quite difficult for Janáček, mainly for financial reasons, the turn of 1915-1916 marked a fundamental change concerning his artistic recognition - after more than ten years it finally seemed possible to present his opera Její pastorkyňa/Jenůfa on the stage of the National Theatre in Prague.
The war year of 1916 was the only time in his career that he would devote himself to composing for a women's choir. In January 1916 he composed the chorus Vlčí stopa/ The Wolf's Trail based on the poetry of Jaroslav Vrchlický and at the beginning of February two cycles of choruses to the text of the poems by František Serafínský Procházka Hradčanské písničky/Songs of Hradčany and Kašpar Rucký


  • with lyrics also in German and English translation
  • accompanying text in four language versions
  • publishers' notes and annotations in Czech and German
  • editors: Jiří Zahrádka and Miloš Štědroň Jr.
  • revision and new German and English translation of the lyrics: Karel Trinkewitz,Soňa Červená, Robert Russell
  • size: 310 × 245 mm
  • spiral binding
  • number of pages: 144 + 4 + 2
  • editorial reference number: H0002
  • ISMN M-66051-177-0
  • issued in September 2002

score and instrumental parts

series C / volume 3 

Reference: H0002

Condition: New product

(Songs of Hradcany, Caspar Rutsky, Wolf-tracks)