Suite op. 3 (1889-1891)

Suite op. 3 was composed by Leoš Janáček between 1889-1891. It is the result of the author's efforts to create an extensive orchestral piece in which he exploited folklore sources that he focused on at that time. The composer entitled the work with the simple title "op. 3" and in 1924 he mentioned the work as "Composition". Later, the authors of biographies and catalogues referred to it as Serenade as well as Suite, and the latter title was adopted relatively quickly due to its use at the posthumous premiere of the work on September 23, 1928, and at the first publication of the score in 1958. This Critical Edition returns Suite to the version from April 1891, that is, to the state before its four movements became relatively independent or used in the author's subsequent artistic projects.

500.00 Kč


  • preface in four languages
  • publishers notes and annotations in Czech and German language
  • editors: Leoš Faltus, Jarmila Procházková
  • size: 340 × 270 mm
  • number of pages: 79 + 21 x 1-9
  • editorial reference number: H 0019
  • ISMN 979-0-706527-07-9
  • issued in 2012

series D / volume 2 

Reference: H0019

Condition: New product